This software has a lot of potential

Introduce yourself, show your set up, discuss tips, ask questions, and more!
aaronv

This software has a lot of potential

Post by aaronv » Sun May 15, 2016 9:26 pm

After using this for a few days I think this has the ability to replace a lot of piano lessons and save people money. This is like the khan academy of piano.
It's nice that you guys didn't stick straight to a middle C approach (since I heard that was bad) and have many different positions from the get-go. I find that turning off the note labels completely and saying each name out loud as I play has helped me progress faster on the harder stuff. I'm a software engineer and this program is pretty nicely made, with some questionable UI (why is there no back button to go back to the bootcamp from the lesson page?).

The only thing is that I think there is not enough material so far to last me a whole year subscription or maybe even a month subscription, unless I buy a lot of songs. Even then, I think the lessons should not rely on people buying songs or anything to progress (which I don't think they do so far). The songs on the store should just be an extra.

I really really think this software could use something like quizzes, like fill in the blank or some sort of flashcards. Here's some inspiration https://www.musictheory.net/exercises

You guys should also have a demo of this software for people to try (or at least I couldn't find one), or show people's ability to play in a before-after fashion after finishing your rookie/intermediate/advanced lessons on your website.
A 1-2 lesson demo would have sold me immediately.

It'd also be cool to see more stats based on other piano players or how you measure against them, and the ability for the sofware to tell you how much time you've spent practicing (not just the time it measures whilst recording).