Bootcamp Flow

A place to discuss Playground's main curriculum, the Bootcamp.
drumaster12

Bootcamp Flow

Post by drumaster12 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 12:06 am

First of all, thanks for the software and all the work that's gone into it! Having never done more than poke around at a keyboard in music stores before, I was excited to dive into the bootcamp. A few things are confusing me though, and really interrupting the flow.

First, the order of the bootcamp lessons and exercises. Since I'm new to this, I went straight to the rookie tour. That brought up a bunch of numbered tiles that I figured should be done in their numbered order. I'm increasingly unsure about that though because video lessons are saying things like "now in this next lesson...", but the next lesson is an exercise, or a lesson on a totally different topic. I'm lost and don't know if I'm going in the right order, or what the right order is!

Next, the count in. It's not a particularly big deal, but I can't understand why you keep counting in to 4 when the exercises are in 2/4.

Lastly, the flow within exercises is not as smooth as it could be. I really like the "C to Retry" feature. It's brilliant! I don't have to move my hands from the keys and can start again right away. When I'm happy with that potion of the exercise though, I'm rewarded by having to move away from the keys and move the mouse to click "OK", go up to the dropdown, select the next section, then click play. You turned what is a simple one-key press for "do-over" into a 4-click process for "Yes, I nailed it!". Couldn't I just press a different key to move on to the next section?
This ties into the lesson order as well. If I press the "next" key after the last section of an exercise, maybe the program could take me to the next lesson in the bootcamp.