Timing and Rhythm

Let us know which features you'd like to see added to Playground Sessions.
Brewster

Timing and Rhythm

Post by Brewster » Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:39 pm

Hey everybody. I am new to all this so it might be covered already. Many years ago I was given a book which had in the back cover a 45 RPM record (anyone else remember those?) and the book was "The Music Kit" by Tom Manoff. 2nd edition. It was a bit cumbersome trying to listen to and constantly lift and lower your turntable arm on to and off of the correct track. Today would be no problem in digital. The point is that the book was all about time signature - rhythm and tempo. The idea was to give you a FEEL for what the notes were meant to sound like - not just their arithmetic value in a particular measure of a song. Is there anything like that in Playground? I have just started Bootcamp 15 on Rhythm but have posted a problem about this (a reply to someone else's posting actually). I thought it was a great idea. Some day I will convert that 45 to a CD or music file & use it on my PC.

sw1tch73ch

Re: Timing and Rhythm

Post by sw1tch73ch » Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:15 pm

You can have the lesson play for you. You won't get practice points. Look for the little left and right hands at the top left of the lesson. Click them to tell the app to play that hand for you. Click each of them to play both parts. That way you can hear the tempo of the piece.
== Just keep playing. Just keep playing. Just keep playing, playing, playing! ==

-- jbs --

thowa

Post by thowa » Sat Jun 02, 2018 4:37 am

...note that aou have to on the MIDI sound volume somewhere deep inside the user settings when toggling playback in the menu, other wise you won't hear anything. Mentioning that because many people mute the MIDI as they prefer to listen to their own piano instead of the programs MIDI sound when practicing.
A more simple way to toggle program MIDI has been requested elsewhere.

Thomas

andrewwegierski