Hello!

Introduce yourself to the Playground Community.
Silent

Hello!

Post by Silent » Sat Jan 28, 2017 12:57 pm

Hello everyone! Nice to meet you!

I am a 34 year-old Italian researcher based in Belgium.

I used to take piano lessons as a child and was quite good at it. I am not really sure why I stopped at one point - I guess my parents decided I had to focus more on my school homework. It's a pity because I haven't been playing for years... until at one point my boyfriend decided to buy me a keyboard and a subscription to Playground sessions :)

I really enjoy it. It's fun, it always seems like playing a game and I see that I learn quite quickly.

Just a few considerations:

1) I tried to re-study some classical pieces I used to play well (e.g. Beethoven), but I'm quite confused: the scores are always a little different from the original ones, and my procedural memory would rather do them the way I learned them the first time.

2) When I learn a new piece with Playground Sessions I tend to rely really a lot on what I see on the screen, which is good because I am always sure I'm getting the exact right tempo. However, I am completely unable to play without reading the score. If I close my laptop, I remember NOTHING of the piece. Does this get any better?

Looking forward to sharing experiences with you guys!

davidsides
Site Admin

Re: Hello!

Post by davidsides » Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:19 pm

Silent wrote:Hello everyone! Nice to meet you!

I am a 34 year-old Italian researcher based in Belgium.

I used to take piano lessons as a child and was quite good at it. I am not really sure why I stopped at one point - I guess my parents decided I had to focus more on my school homework. It's a pity because I haven't been playing for years... until at one point my boyfriend decided to buy me a keyboard and a subscription to Playground sessions :)

I really enjoy it. It's fun, it always seems like playing a game and I see that I learn quite quickly.