Kia ora from New Zealand

Introduce yourself to the Playground Community.
Pohutukawa

Kia ora from New Zealand

Post by Pohutukawa » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:20 pm

Hi, It's my birthday and I got a new keyboard, and the sessions. I'm a total beginner. Nice to be here.

mariyastepanenko

Re: Kia ora from New Zealand

Post by mariyastepanenko » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:48 pm

Welcome to Playground! What keyboard did you get?

Pohutukawa

Post by Pohutukawa » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:38 pm

A Casio Privia PX-360M. Too good for me, I know!

scirocco

Post by scirocco » Thu Mar 01, 2018 2:34 am

No, I think it's a good choice. I went as low as I dared (Yamaha P45) and while it is perfectly fine for an absolute beginner, really I am regretting not spending a bit more like you have done.

Good luck with Playground Sessions, having worked my way through the rookie bootcamp I think it is very intelligently structured and a great way to learn. One thing I wish I had done is spent more time polishing each song. The temptation is to get to 100% and then immediately move on to the next one. I'm starting to realise you need to spend time repeatedly playing each one really well, not just getting 100% on the scoreboard.

sw1tch73ch

Post by sw1tch73ch » Fri Mar 02, 2018 6:55 pm

Hi Scirocco - I have to agree on that 100% as a target. You really want to keep practicing until you can reliably hit 100%. Hitting it just once doesn't mean you've really learned the piece.
== Just keep playing. Just keep playing. Just keep playing, playing, playing! ==

-- jbs --

Pohutukawa

Post by Pohutukawa » Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:28 pm