Find your path.....(for absolute beginners)

Share your ideas with fellow Playground users!
SJunior22

Find your path.....(for absolute beginners)

Post by SJunior22 » Thu Feb 20, 2020 12:44 pm

Hello Fellow Pianists!

(TL/DR) : Start with the Rookie Bootcamp, mix in as many relevant courses along with praticing the rookie bootcamp.
Be sure to practice your scales from the point you learn them. Practice your scales as a warmup each and everyday you practice.
While you are on the journey of getting the basics down, keep in mind of what genre you are gravitating towards (jazz, pop, classical, blues, etc). Start turning your focus on that genre you're interested in as you complete the Bootcamps (i.e. score better in relevant songs/lessons than the ones you arent so into).
Once you have the bootcamps complete, its time for full-length songs. Depending on your confidence and skill after bootcamp, you might want to start at a song that has a "Rookie or Intermediate" designation in the song store.
You are on your own at this point. Its up to you to interpret and translate the music (unless you get a song that has a video accompanyment). I suggest you get a song that you know very well and that is not too long (less than 50 measures from start to finish).
Good Luck!! :)

I've seen this question appear once in a while and I was in the same situation when I began with Playground Sessions. I would like to share how I found my path to becoming the piano player that I want to be and hopefully help someone out there who feels lost or has no direction towards their goal.